Built in 1856 it is believed the cottage was originally located on the site of the Bank of Victoria building and moved to its present location when the stone building was erected. The cottage is much loved by the Yackandandah community and visitors alike. It is the single most commented on and enjoyed part of this museum with frequent comments on the joy of being able to be immersed in the lives of the previous occupants, or to feel emotionally involved with what has gone on before in the cottage or the era it represents. This building evokes memories and provides experiences outside our day-to-day existence. Some of our visitor comments this year include:
“The original cottage is beyond words.”
“What an amzing woman Isabella was!”
“What a wonderful time capsule! Thankyou for the trust of no ropes”
The exterior of the slab cottage has been covered with weatherboards and the shingle roof covered with corrugated iron in order to provide better protection. Some of the original roof shingles can be seen in the lean-to at the back of the cottage. A central hallway leads to three bedrooms and a kitchen – all fitted and furnished as if the occupants were still in residence.
Miraculously, the fire of December 2006 did no more than minor damage to the cottage.
As you leave the cottage stroll back through the garden and enjoy the peaceful surrounds.